Members of CANN

 The Vision of CANN is to be recognized as the leading chemistry authority on the safe & beneficial processing, extraction, and purity analysis of cannabis products.

                Ezra Pryor – Founder and ChairEzra-beautiful-smile-Optimized-1024x912

As President of Ez Chem Consultancy, Ezra has been interfacing directly with individuals and companies around the globe in the cannabis industry.  Ezra has focused on acting as faculty for cannabis educational programs and working directly with those in the cannabis industry to improve their methods and quality of products produced. 

Ezra is the founding member and Chair of the Cannabis Chemistry Subdivision (CANN) of the Chemical Health & Safety division (DCHAS) within the American Chemical Society. (ACS)  In an industry where secrets are closely kept and misinformation is abundant, Ezra has been a lab partner for some and a beacon of light for many.

            Erika Oltermann – Membership Chair


Erika Oltermann is a senior at the University of North Texas in Denton. She expects to receive a Bachelors of Science in Biochemistry in May of 2016. She met Ezra Pryor at an ACS national meeting in 2015 and has since become involved with both the CANN and EZ Chem.

Additionally, she is serving as Chair of the Patron Membership Committee at the American Chemical Society’s Small Chemical Businesses division.  

Melissa Wilcox – Secretary

Melissa has more than 20 years of experience in chromatographic separations, with expertise in analytical chromatography and purification technologies.  She has presented at numerous technical meetings and cannabis science conferences and co-teaches the short course on Cannabis Extraction and Analysis at ACS National Meetings.  In September she co-presented a webinar for the ACS publication, Chemical & Engineering News, entitled Cannabis Analysis: Protecting Consumer Safety in an Emerging Industry, with fellow CANN member, Dr. Jeffrey Raber.

In her consulting role, she advises clients on analytical methods and best practices in the lab.  Melissa is the Secretary for the American Chemical Society’s Cannabis Chemistry subdivision (CANN) and a member of the American Oil Chemists Society (AOCS) and American Herbal Products Association (AHPA) cannabis committees.  She is part of a collaborative research team working to develop better analytical methods for cannabis products, focusing on sample preparation of edible products with complex matrices.

Dr. Jahan MarcuJahan Marcu Headshot

Dr. Marco is the Chief Scientist for Americans for Safe Access, Chief Auditor for Patient Focused Certification Serves on multiple expert government, trade association committees, and scientific organizations including AHPA, ACS-CANN, AOCS, AOAC, ASA, IACM, IMCPC, ICCI, and others

He is an author of the American Herbal Pharmacopeia 
Cannabis Monograph

His work has focused on the structure and function of 
cannabinoid receptors, the anti-cancer properties of 
cannabis compounds, as well as method development & 
validation for analyzing complex formulations

Dr. Marcu was the first recipient of the Billy Martin 
research award from the International Cannabinoid 
Research Society.

 He is also a court-qualified synthetic cannabinoid and cannabis expert

Andrew Pham

Andrew Pham is on his way to being recognized as one of the country’s foremost cannabis scientists. As former Lead Scientist for SC Laboratories, the largest cannabis testing laboratory in California, he built and managed analytical laboratory operations, consulted for product research and development, and provided public education about cannabis. A UC Berkeley graduate, with a Master’s from Boston University, he is passionate about battling the social stigma of cannabis through outreach, education, and science.

He is a member of the Cannabis Chemistry Committee, a subdivision of the American Chemical Society, and has also been qualified as an expert witness in San Diego County, where he has testified in three legal cases this year involving BHO extractions. He currently serves as the Lead Scientist for CV Sciences where he focuses primarily on cannabinoid testing and quality assurance.

CANN members also include 

Dr. Tyrell Towle

and many more. . .